Tuesdays with Dorie: Peach Raspberry Galette

It was with great sadness that I ate the last slice of the Blueberry Nectarine Pie.  The only thing that stopped me from immediately making another one was the fact that there was a new Tuesdays with Dorie recipe to try this week – Mixed Berry Galette.  For the past couple of years, I’ve been intrigued by the concept of a galette (a kind of free-form pie) and have wanted to try one but never got around to actually making it.  So, thanks to this group, that’s one more thing I can cross off my baking bucket list.

One of the nice things about this recipe is that the filling is pretty much up to you.  I confess, I almost made it with a blueberry and nectarine filling.  What can I say?  I’m now an addict.  But I executed great restraint and opted for some fresh peaches and raspberries instead.

So, how did it compare?  Here’s an ode to a summer galette –

I love that you’re easy.

Yes, some may take this the wrong way, but it works for you.  No crimping.  No precise measuring.  Just roll, plop, fold and bake.

I love that you’re cute.

I was expecting a pie-sized dessert.  I was not prepared for the tiny little bundle of goodness sitting on my baking sheet.

And tucking the little blanket of dough around the layers of fresh fruit . . .

Next to sticky ice cream kisses from my son, it doesn’t get much cuter.

I love that you’re flexible.

Berries?  Peaches?  Apples?  Cranberries?  You name it, it can work in a galette.    Just toss it in.  Sprinkle with sugar.  And enjoy.  Baking with Julia even includes a variation with tomato and cheese.  If my heirlooms survive our 110 degree heat wave, you better believe I’m trying this.

I love that you’re a willing accomplice to my bad habits.

Take this conversation for example –

My husband:  Are you eating pie for breakfast?

Me:  Unh-uh.   It’s a galette.

See how nice that works?

However, all that being said, last week’s pie has still won my heart.  But it was close, little baby galette.  Real close.

Thanks to our hosts this week – Lisa of Tomato Thymes and Andrea of The Kitchen Lioness.  Check out their blogs to hear their baking experiences as well as for the recipe itself.

15 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Peach Raspberry Galette

  1. Galettes are so lovely. My nieces enjoyed making these, but I think that last week’s pie gave them more of a sense of accomplishment.

  2. A delightful post & scrumptious looking galette. I am working on mine a little late.
    And, yes, I will definitely eat a pie (aka galette) anytime for breakfast!! Yum.

Leave a Reply

