Baking With Julia: Gingerbread Baby Cakes

Gingerbread Baby CakesWow, has it really been two MONTHS since I posted anything?  Life got a little crazy and sad and real for a moment.  I assure you I’ve been baking right along with all of you, I just haven’t gotten around to writing and posting about it.  But now I’m back, my house smells like gingerbread and there’s a bunny nosing around my patio.  Can’t get much better than that.

This was a perfect recipe to return with — simple, comforting and delicious.  We just finished celebrating my son’s 4th birthday and I have to confess that after all the cupcakes and multicolored buttercream frosting, it was nice to indulge in a bit more grown-up dessert.

And another confession –

As I was making these cakes I got a little sentimental over their name.  Baby Cakes.  Because I finally have to admit, my own little baby is not a baby anymore.  My husband spent the birthday weekend breaking down the toddler bed and setting up the new big boy bed.  Which also meant packing away all the baby/toddler sheets, blankets, stuffed animals, etc.  That was followed by an overnight trip to Disneyland — which is where the bigger realization hit.

One year ago his favorite ride was Winnie the Pooh.  We rode it this trip, too.  Except afterwards he didn’t ask to ride it again.   And he didn’t care to go see Pooh and Tigger.  What did he want?  Big Thunder Mountain.  In one year we’ve gone from Winnie the Pooh to roller coasters.

So in honor of my own little “babycake,”  whip up a batch of these sweet treats and enjoy some quiet moments with those you love.

Thanks to Karen of Karen’s Kitchen Stories for hosting this week.  Visit her blog to see her beautiful version of this recipe as well as for the recipe itself.

12 thoughts on “Baking With Julia: Gingerbread Baby Cakes

  1. Love the stencils on your cakes! Very cute.

    In non-baking-related commentary: My “baby” just got accepted to her top college choice. I still can’t believe the years have flown by. Those transitions (like the ones from Pooh to Big Thunder Mountain) are glorious. Enjoy them!

    Also, I loved “The Night Circus” by Erin Morgenstern.

  2. Love, love, love your post! The stencil decorations on the cakes is so creative and festive and I was so touched reading about your baby growing up. I so can relate to everything you stated. My kids are older but the letting go and growing up doesn’t seem to ease. Enjoy every stage!! :) I like how you post the book you are reading…might have to try that myself..and check this book out.

Leave a Reply

