Beginnings

After months of saying I’m going to do it, I finally started a food blog.  Because I guess that’s what you do nowadays when you’re a thirtysomething woman trying to get some perspective on your life.  I think the hardest part has been deciding what to call this thing.  My husband lovingly suggested Too Much On My Plate Already and In the Weeds.  He’s nothing if not honest.

When I was little, I loved helping out in the kitchen.  Plus I knew that if I hung around long enough there’d be an egg beater to lick.  I continued to cook as I grew up, trying new recipes and discovering new foods and flavors.  Two things changed my perspective on food.  The first was moving to California.  I was overwhelmed by the abundance of Farmer’s Markets and had never tasted food so fresh.  I still vividly remember the first salad I ate here.

The second was my son being diagnosed with food allergies.  As I started to scrutinize the labels on everything that came into our house, I was shocked by what I saw.  Preservatives, chemicals and ingredients that served no purpose other than to make things as cheaply as possible.  Finding a loaf of bread that didn’t contain soy felt like a search for the holy grail.  I began to cook pretty much everything my son ate.  Our pantry transformed; our palates changed; and I discovered how rewarding it is to get back to the basics.  That’s what I’d like to share here.  The joys of cooking and of using fresh ingredients — things that seem to have been forgotten in our hectic lives.

Enjoy and Bon Appetit!

Leave a Reply

