Tuesdays with Dorie: Irish Soda Bread

Having a St. Patrick’s Day birthday has shaped my celebrations over the years.  A few things I can always count on.  Corned beef and cabbage.  Crowded bars (often with at least one drunk guy who suggests rubbing his blarney stone for good luck.)  And more green frosting and leprechaun cards than you can imagine.

I’ve tried to embrace the smidgen of Irish ancestry my mother assures me exists somewhere among our dumpling-loving Eastern European roots.  This has included several attempts to make Irish Soda Bread.  The resulting loaves have been as follows:  heavy, dry, inedible, brick-like, tossed in the trash and fed to the dog.  So, while my fingers were crossed that this one would have a better outcome, my hopes weren’t too high.  Besides, thanks to my husband, there was some surprise birthday cake and a bottle of wine waiting in the refrigerator.

Oh.  My.  God.  Can you say that about bread?  Especially one with no yeast?  And one that takes all of five minutes to make?  This was so good, I actually skipped a second helping of cake in favor of another slice of bread.

So, thank you, Dorie.  You made it a happy birthday indeed.

Thanks to Cathy at My Culinary Mission and Carla at Chocolate Moosey for hosting this week.  You can check out their blogs for more details on the recipe.

8 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Irish Soda Bread

Leave a Reply

