Tuesdays with Dorie: Coconut Rum Biscotti

Books and biscotti — a perfect combination if you ask me.  Both by nature allow us to jump off the treadmill of our daily lives and relax.  Linger.  I challenge you to eat biscotti in a hurry.  It’s kind of impossible.  Biscotti’s designed to be nibbled, dunked, swirled.  Like a good book, it’s a thing to be savored.  And in our household, these biscotti are most definitely being savored.

I switched up the ingredients for this one a bit.  The original recipe in Baking with Julia is for Hazelnut Biscotti, but with temperatures creeping into the triple digits (yuck!) I didn’t feel like boiling and toasting the hazelnuts.  Macadamia nuts felt a bit more summery.  To go along with them, I swapped out the frangelico called for in the recipe with coconut rum.  Because, again, nothing says summer like a splash of rum.  Oh and don’t worry, I won’t say anything if you decide to add a splash of rum to your weekend coffee as well.  😉

And if you’re looking for a good book to read over the summer, I recommend Ann Patchett’s State of Wonder.  I’m only halfway through, so I can’t speak for the ending yet, but so far I’m completely caught up in the story.  Part Island of Dr. Moreau, part feminist Heart of Darkness, it’s a thrilling journey into the Amazon and the worlds of pharmaceutical research and medical ethics.  I’ve been sneaking downstairs early the past few mornings to squeeze in some extra reading time before the rest of the house is awake.  Now, thanks to Julia, I’ve got a sweet little treat to enjoy on those mornings.

Thanks to Jodi of Homemade and Wholesome and Katrina of Baking and Boys for hosting this week.  Check out their blogs to hear their baking experiences as well as for the recipe itself.

25 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Dorie: Coconut Rum Biscotti

  1. Coconut rum and macadamia nuts: great combo for biscotti. I wish I’d thought of that! I hope you keep enjoying State of Wonder — it’s a pretty good book. (As I read it, I could not get past the image of Judi Dench as Dr. Swenson if a movie were ever made of this book.)

    • I’m dreaming of it, too. One of the places we stayed at on our honeymoon served a fabulous macadamia nut french toast with pineapple syrup. I’ve been reminiscing big time.

  2. State of Wonder’s on my To Read list for this summer – your mini-review might just push it up in the queue. The coconut macadamia version sounds fabulous and they look so professional with their drizzle of chocolate.

  3. I love reading your blog…you are a great writer 🙂 I also love the chocolate drizzle on your biscotti…definitely doing a chocolate dip on the next go around. Thanks for the book recommendation! I am reading Yes Chef right now…new release and it is very interesting so far 🙂

  4. so smart to switch to a nut that’s not as fiddly as the hazelnuts can be. yes, it feels like the tropics here in Colorado too, minus the humidity thankfully! very precise and pretty biscotti you made.

  5. Ha, I grew up in Florida so I actually miss a bit of humidity. My husband thinks I’m part lizard. 😉 Hope you’re not affected by the fires.

Leave a Reply

